Archiproducts Design Awards: The 2020 Jury

Architects, designers, photographers, editors and art directors – old and new acquaintances

Lu 2902 fois
Archiproducts Design Awards: The 2020 Jury
26/06/2020 - Already going in its fifth edition, the Archiproducts Design Awards will once again focus on the best efforts in international design, depict the state of affairs, celebrate creativity and innovation. The winners 2020 will be selected by a jury of more than 60 renowned and emerging architecture firms, designers, creative directors, editors, photographers and creative hubs from all over the world.

This multidisciplinary panel, although mainly comprising architects and designers, is increasingly giving voice to professionals from adjoining fields like fashion, art and public relations.

The jury of the Archiproducts Design Awards 2020 presents itself as an exciting mix of old and new acquaintances.
Studio Libeskind, UNStudio, Matthew McCormick, Marcio Kogan, Pitsou Kedem, Piero Lissoni, Mecanoo, Quincoces Drago, Diego Grandi, as well as Rossana Orlandi, studiopepe, Fabio Fantolino, Federico Babina and Edoardo Tresoldi, to name just a few of this year’s jury members.
New entries include: Patrik Schumacher (head of Zaha Hadid Architects); Michael Anastassiades, also author of the new prize trophy that will go to the designers of the winning products; Andrea Trimarchi and Simone Farresin (Formafantasma); Hana Hakim (on behalf of Australian studio Stella Collective); the photographer Omar Sartor; the architect Binke Lenhardt, Co-founder of Crossboundaries, based in Beijing; Giovanna Castiglioni (vice president and Secretary General of the Achille Castiglioni Foundation; Domitilla Dardi (MAXXI curator and professor of History of Design at the IED).
They are joined by the duo Emiliano Salcu and Britt Moran (DIMORESTUDIO), known for their interest in aesthetics, functionality and projects with that “special spark”, and NYC graphic designer Stefan Sagmeister, intent on supporting “projects that can be helpful to someone”.

Among the new entries there are, moreover, some names linked to the design communication agency Camron PR, who is supporting ADA 2020 as Media Partner: American designer Kelly Wearstler; the architect and designer Omer Arbel, Bocci co-founder and creative director; New York-based interior designer Robert McKinley; the architect and designer Ed Ng, Co-Founder & Principal of AB Concept studio, based in Hong Kong; the designer Kirsten Murray, from Olson Kundig studio based in Seattle; the architect Lim Koon Park, Founder of Park + Associates, based in Singapore; and American designer duo Will Meyer and Gray Davis from Meyer Davis Studio.
“A Design Award should celebrate "possible futures", especially futures that are not obvious, outcomes that don't simply follow trends and foreseeable patterns” says first time jury member Davide Angeli from AMDL Circle, a studio headed by Michele De Lucchi.

“We believe contemporary product design should aim to represent the times in which they are made” That is the conclusion of the new jury members from Austin Maynard Architects. “In the current climate there are many issues that can be addressed, highlighted and made culturally relevant through design.”
The new architecture firms in this year’s jury: 3XN architects and Norm Architects, both from Denmark; Storage Associati from Milan; Ark4lab of Architecture, Ecologicstudio, Bourgeois / Lechasseur architects, k-studio, as well as the architects Davide Macullo and Luigi Rosselli.
More new faces: Dara Huang, founder of Design Haus Liberty, an architecture and design firm with offices in London, New York and Shanghai; Štepánová Dagmar, founder of FormaFatal.
“I am expecting a piercing exploration of habitual stereotypes”, says another first time jury member. Yu Ting, co-founder of “magical realism” inspired Wutopia Lab, gets straight to the point: “After all, if we're not exploring, we’re not doing anything. We are just waiting”
Also among the new entries we welcome Beppe Brancato and members of BoysPlay Nice Photography & Concept. They will join the jury’s architecture photographers Fernando Alda, Federico Cedrone and Ema Peter.
Confirmed jury members: Armin and Alexander Pedevilla (pedevilla architects); Japanese architect Satoshi Kurosaki (founder of Apollo Architects and master of “innovative architecture”; Dutch architect Francine Houben (@Mecanoo founding partner); the founders of noa* - network of architects; Andrew Trotter (founder of Andrew Trotter studio).
From Italy: Studio Milo, Andrea Marcante and Adelaide Testa, Zaven and Studio Testo.
We welcome back the Spanish duo MUT design, authors of the by now iconic ADA prize trophy, as well as the designers Andrés Reisinger, Alain Gilles, Anne Sophie Goneau and Florence Bourel.
But it’s not just architecture and design. Also among the jury members: the creative minds of THREEFOLD, a Montreal communication agency and editors of the ANNIVERSARY online magazine; Azamit, visual storytelling expert and founder of the IN TOTO brand; Gherardo Felloni, Creative Director of Roger Vivier; Miruna Sorescu, founder of SINDROMS and independent curator of Alice Stori Liechtenstein.
Applications for the ADA 2020 are open now!
The deadline for participation is set for September 14, 2020. A long-list with the finalist competing for the ADA 2020 will be published in October. Winners will be announced in the first week of November.
Nominate your products! From Furniture to Lighting, from Contract to Constructions, submit from 1 to 5 products, choosing from those you’ve presented this year. Choose carefully and enter the competition now!

Nouveautés connexes

2020 Archiproducts Design Awards: the Winners
ADA 2020 jury members speak, part 3: Beppe Brancato, Kirsten Murray and Stefan Sagmeister
ADA 2020 jury members speak, part 2: Giovanna Castiglioni, Austin Maynard Architects, Wutopia Lab
Archiproducts Design Awards Night 2019
Archiproducts Design Awards: 2019 Winners announced

Partager sur Facebook Partager sur Twitter Partager sur Tumblr Partager sur Pinterest
Suivez-nous sur